top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePetra

My first blog post



This is my first blog post and I am very excited! I have been sewing for about 5 years and always wanted to document my makes in a blog and now seems like the right time. This week was the first time I have ever made a jacket. I always felt it was out of my sewing depth but when I saw the Deer and Doe Nénuphar pattern I thought I would give it a go. I have sewn the Deer and Doe Sirocco jumpsuit twice and it is so flattering and easy to sew it gave me a lot of hope for sewing my first jacket.



I like drawing out my designs before I sew them so I can get an idea about what it will look like and to see if the pattern will go with the fabric. It took me a Sunday afternoon to cut out the pattern and fabric. I also managed to sew the bodice and the pockets. It took a further evening to sew in the sleeves and collar so it was pretty quick. The instructions are clear and it was fun. There are so many part of this jacket I love - the pocket details match the collar, the sleeves are a good length and the gathers at the back are very flattering. I made a facemask to match the jacket and I received many compliments! I will definitely be sewing this again and I highly recommend the pattern.


Pattern: Deer and Doe Nénuphar

Fabric: Abakhan (bought about 2 years ago)



45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2020: My year in review

Well, 2020 was a year like no other. It was a year of change and adapting to so many unexpected changes. I started working from home in March and I haven't been back to my office. This caused a lot of

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page