top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePetra

Pattern Review: Tilly and the Buttons Coco top


I am finally getting around to reviewing the Tilly and the Buttons Coco top pattern I made at the end of 2019. I bought this pattern a few years ago and I knew this was going to be a staple for my wardrobe. I didn't get round to making this before but one Saturday morning last November I woke up and felt I wanted to sew my first Coco top. I visited my local fabric and sewing shop Like Sew Amazing to look for some stretchy cotton and found some very soft pink and black striped French terry. I couldn't find any of that material but I found some pink and red striped French terry: https://likesewamazing.com/product/pink-and-red-striped-cotton-jersey/



Later in the afternoon I started making the top and, in total, cutting out the pattern, cutting out the fabric and sewing together took about 5 hours (I spent quite a lot of time making sure the stripes matched). It was very straightforward to make as there were only three pattern pieces. The sleeves are attached before you sew up the sides and therefore made the it easy to insert. I finished off the edges with a zig zag stitch and straight stitched the hems and the neckband very easily. I found I had some leftover fabric so I made a matching headband.



The Tilly and the Buttons Coco top and dress is perfect for all sewing levels and I think it a good pattern for starting to use a stretch fabric. It is a satisfying and quick make and doesn’t require an overlocker. Having had this top for nearly a year I can say that it still looks as nice as the day I made it. The fabric is very good quality and still feels very soft. It is a good staple to have in your wardrobe and I usually wear it under my dungaree dress and it think it matches very well. I will definitely be making the Coco top again and I will also be attempting to make the dress so I will let you know how I get on!


Petra x

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2020: My year in review

Well, 2020 was a year like no other. It was a year of change and adapting to so many unexpected changes. I started working from home in March and I haven't been back to my office. This caused a lot of

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page